UMAIRICA

Fashion & Lifestyle !!

it’s Veena Malik on My Bag

1 Comment

1. It’s a limited edition canvas bag…and part of a special subscription promotion
2. It’s in collaboration with designer-of-the-moment Sania Maskatiya
3. It’s Huge!
4. Damn, it has Veena Malik on it!

Now those are delicious ingredients for a Bag and guess who created the recipe? Xpoze Monthly Magazine!!!


Xpozé is celebrating its 5th Anniversary this November and looks like they are already in a celebratory mood! From July 2012 to December 2012, all new subscribers of Xpozé will be able to own this bold, gutsy, creative, sexy and spacious limited edition Veena Malik summer bag, especially created in collaboration with Sania Maskatiya.

We are completely blown away by this amazing idea of having Veena on a bag and actually offering this cult edgy item for free!

Here UMAIRICA is humbled that Andleeb Rana Farhan, the Editor-in-Chief of Xpoze, took some time out from her busy schedule to answer a few of our questions?

1. Why Veena Malik?

Simply because in almost 5 years of being in the market and with 70 editions out on the news-stands already, Xpozé’s Veena Malik cover (October 2011 edition) turned out to be our best selling cover ever….and we actually had to reprint approximately 3,000 more copies to fulfill the demand! It was insane: we had hawkers outside our head office everyday demanding we give them more copies!

2. Why the collaboration with Sania Maskatiya?

The shoot was done in Dubai and my Style Team carried Sania Maskatiya’s latest bridal collection with them. It was Sania’s first ever shoot with Xpozé….and on the cover, Veena is wearing a gorgeous red strappy number by Sania. There’s no denial that 2011 totally belonged to Sania Maskatiya and Veena Malik…and I thought why not collaborate with both of them for our bags too! It was just a marketing strategy that worked brilliantly!

3. Any difficulties faced in production of these bags, knowing that they must have been produced in lots of numbers?

Coming up with a creative idea in Pakistan also means facing a lot of problems when it comes to executing it! We did face a few problems but nothing so disastrous that it couldn’t be managed. Apart from production of the bags, the big issue I faced was that the subscription form from the June edition had to be pulled out while the magazine was already in print. I simply didn’t want my readers to raise their hopes high with the bags till I wasn’t satisfied with the end product. The minute I got the first sample that I was happy with, we put up the form on our website (www.xpozemonthly.com) and sent traffic to the website via social media. Hats off to our loyal readers who completely understood the problem we went through. Having said that, the subscription form is all set to be in our July edition!

4. How’s the response been?

I am still in a shock that without us printing the subscription form in our June edition, we still managed to get 150 new subscribers in the first two weeks of June alone! I simply just didn’t believe that people would actually make an effort to download the form from the website, print it out, fill it and post it to us….but they did, and we actually now have many international subscribers as well! My staff is actually scared of the response when the form would be printed in our July edition! In our last brainstorming session, they all actually suggested that we let the form stay on the website only! But I feel I owe it to my readers who buy our printed edition… hence, I decided that the form will be printed from July…all the way to December: it my little way of saying thank you to my readers!

5. Tell us about the successful journey that you have had with your baby (i.e. Xpoze), who will be 5 this year?

What can I say: I am humbled and thank god everyday for all the love and belief people have in me. At the age of 34, I have already had 3 career rebirths. I started modeling at 16 and simultaneously worked at an ad agency. I got to walk the ramp with some of the best models Pakistan has ever seen namely Bibi, Zoella, Zaidi, Sonia Mehnaz and etc. I had a fantastic time as an account manager for the ad firm and actually got amazing chances to work with legends like Elton John for the global Citibank campaign. I worked very closely with legends like Arshad Tareen when I worked for his newspaper (Lines) as his Creative Services Director. At the age of 23, I was already the editor of Mag, a jang group publication… and was trained in journalism by none other than the absolute legend, Shakil Ur Rehman. Internships at Vogue and Glamour followed and from a very young age, I have been travelling the world alone. It was all possible because of all the love and support I had of my parents. And then when I decided to get married, I just couldn’t thank god enough for the amazingly supportive husband I have… who not only encouraged me to launch Xpozé but supported me unconditionally. I guess when you work hard and are honest with your work, God has His ways of putting things together for you. Today if Xpoze is considered to be one of the best magazines in Pakistan, it’s simply because I have been honest with my work…. And that alone was possible because of all the support and love I have had from my family. And of course, I give all credit to my readers who have been part of all my different careers. I know some readers who use to write weekly letters to me in Lines, then Mag and now Xpoze. People I have never met….but who have always encouraged me. These people are the ones I am honest for: if they want the magazine on the 1st of every month, they get it. If they want detailed Trend Reports, they get it. If they want me to be honest about the designers with them, that’s what they get. If they want a certain celeb on the cover, they get that. Advertisers often say that I am very with it when it comes to my readers….and I always say, they are the ones who have made me what I am today. Xpoze is what it is….simply because of its readers.

Author: umairhmirza

I am UMAIRICA :P

One thought on “it’s Veena Malik on My Bag

  1. Pingback: 76 issues and counting – Xpozé turns 5 « umairica

Leave a Reply

